Week 31 – Yay! Elder Oaks!!

Judith is a cutie like her parents 🙂 Can´t wait to meet her in 9 months! I´m halfway to returning home. How has the time passed for you guys? Slow or fast? I sometimes feel like I only have 5 months. This last half of my mission everyone says flys by.

Sam, wow. Nice muscles. Good job Buddy! Nice job to Seth, too, kicking butt like always. Keep me updated on Grandma.

Chris Peterson! That was fast haha. Did he already know her from his mission or they just met? Interracial couples always have the cutest babies haha. They look very happy 🙂

We had a multi-zone meeting and I saw Elder Nasilai for the first time in a while! It was fun to catch up. My friends in my district turned out to be his best friends from an area they were in together before. Not a big surprise that we all clicked.

I am still enjoying my role as a parent but it´s not easy. She depends on me a lot and it worries me because when I leave in 4 weeks she´ll have to direct the area. I´m trying to be a little more firm in making her do more and be outside her comfort zone. She hasn´t been away from her family before and is the youngest. Lots of homesickness here and she´s very sensitive too. I´m helping her but really I´m not prone to these types of feelings so a lot of times I don´t understand her and just want to tell her to “cowgirl up”. The Elders, or the “doctors of the heart”, as they say, are a big help 🙂 Overall, we´re really good friends and she knows why she´s here so she´ll be fine.

Next Sunday, Elder Oaks is coming to El Salvador!! We´re going to San Salvador to hear him! YAY. The thing is that the Area 70 wants every ward to bring 50 investigators. 50. We all thought Pres. Spjut was joking when he told us. We´ve got to try because this goal comes from the Lord so…..ya. I don´t know how we´ll do it but there it is. We did a fast as a mission to add a little power to the punch. Wish us luck.

I thought I loved and appreciated the cabin before but after being here 9 months, it´s the thing I miss the most about home besides you all of course. That American breakfast looks so good 🙂 Sometimes I have tried to explain the Cabin and what we do there to people here and I´ve learned not to do it again. They find it so weird and barbaric. They don´t know what they´re missing!

I had something interesting happen to me this week. Last Monday we met up to play soccer at a sports complex and another brother from another ward showed up with a book. I had only talked to him once before so I didn´t know him well but he pulled me aside. He showed me this book that he had in English called, “Mapping the Book of Mormon”. It is signed by the author, and it´s the explanation of a theory of where every city in the Book of Mormon correspondes with the modern location. He told me that that same day he was eating lunch and recieved the strong impression that I need to have this book. He just handed it to me, told me to read it and that there is a reason that I was called to this part of the world, and left. It was very strange. This brother is a little interesting but hey I´m willing to read the book when I get back. According to this author, the Book of Mormon largely takes place in El Salvador and Guatemala. Santa Ana, the city I´m in right now, is Ani-Anti, the Lamanite city that rejected the sons of Mosiah and tortured them. No wonder we´re having a hard time here 🙂 haha.

The Paz family are still going good, preparing for their baptism. My companion is going better now. She realizes how she needs to control and dominate her emotions and thoughts about home. Depending on the Lord is key.

That´s all for this week. I scored the winning goal in our soccer game this morning against another zone, so that was cool. I´m having fun, fighting Satan, and kicking butt 😉

Happy and Healthy!

Abby

Leave a Reply

