Week 1 – MTC

Mom,

It’s been the longest week but one of the most spiritual. People say this place is a prison, but I like it a ton more than I expected. My district and teachers are amazing. We have two investigators (Jose and Palma) that we’re teaching and Spanish is a struggle but the Spirit is constantly telling me not to worry about it, to learn the gospel first and the Spanish will follow in time with the help of the Spirit. I’m remembering more from High School than I thought I knew and even French is a help. Everyone says you don’t learn the language until 3 months into the mission field anyway, so not to stress about it in the MTC. Hermana Anderson and I are working hard though. I’ve already learned so much and so much as happened in a short amount of time!
That is a cool scripture. It reminded me of a scripture in D&C that says something to the effect of: My people will be chastised, whether or not it is from a test of faith and obedience. (end of paraphrase) We will all have to learn obedience and humility in some way, but it is up to us to decide whether or not it will be from a great sacrifice. It is better to just be obedient straight out rather than to make a great sacrifice in order to learn. That’s just my initial interpretation but the amazing thing about the Word of God is that it speaks to everyone differently. When we are obedient first, it ceases to be a sacrifice in a way. I already feel blessed for being here and it’s becoming less of a sacrifice for me.
I love you so much. Thanks for your example.
Con Amor,
Hermana Morse
Leave a Reply

